Posted by: simplyelegant1 | April 3, 2010

When You’ve Decided on a Caterer Yourself for Your Maui Wedding

Aloha Gentle Reader,

Sometimes brides want to handle some aspects of their Maui Wedding themselves. Many companies don’t allow this at all. I do allow it although, due to past experiences, reluctantly.

I will explain why.

In one  case the client wanted to have a company that I hadn’t worked with do the catering for her wedding. She and her groom had their hearts set on this firm. So I went ahead and made the arrangements.

I called the caterer in question a month before the wedding to make sure that he had it on the books. (I had hired him several months earlier.) He said, “Oh, yeah. The breakfast on the 16th.” I replied, “No, the dinner on the 24th.”

He said that he had nothing on file for the wedding. And he informed me that the cost would be $145 per person.

All of this set up warning bells for me. I contacted the caterer I usually work with and he said that he could do the menu for $85. But the bride and groom said no after I expressed  my concerns and offered them the option.

The Day arrived. The caterer was late. His servers had extremely negative attitudes, one of my pet peeves. A bad attitude spreads faster than cholera.

The quality of the food was poor. And, on top of that, after charging $145 per, the coffee was served in paper cups. Unacceptable.

When I approached the bride to ask how she was enjoying the meal, she said,  “Please don’t say ‘I told you so.'”

I didn’t.  But it was an unhappy situation for all involved.

Don’t get me wrong. Besides the vendors I usually work  with, there are many that are good.  And there are many that aren’t.

I give my clients  my opinions but, in the end, the decision is theirs.

The moral? Listen to you wedding planners advice.  There are usually good reasons for it.

Peace, sunsets and aloha from Maui,

Ellen

Please visit my website here.

Also please visit information on a new location here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

